This article will show you how admin users can configure access permissions, determining what modules and data users can access, and whether that access includes various functions within Trading Programs. For Channel admin and Permitted program line types setting please see our article on how to manage user preferences and admin privileges.
Setting permissions is done by selecting a user and clicking Access settings, setting the process is shown below. Where two suppliers are selected for edit access and three are selected for read access. Please note that edit access will also grant read access (there is no need to set permissions twice). Selections can be made indirectly (via inclusion rules, see below) or just by clicking the trading partner.
You can also set the list of included trading partners for each module available to the user. This is done by clicking on the ☰ button and toggling between the available channel application options (program lines, reports and finance if they are turned on) and changing the access level.
After this, you will need to select the trading partners for which the user will have the chosen permission applied. Only allocated trading partners (those with an attribute value for all attributes) will appear in the list for selection.
Trading partners can be either directly selected or can be grouped and selected together with an inclusion rule.
To do this, click on the Create inclusion rule button on the right-hand side of the page, where creating an inclusion rule may involve either of the following:
This is the same logic that is used when selecting dimension items for a program line.
Once an inclusion rule has been configured, you will be able to view a list of the trading partners that meet your inclusion rule’s criteria in the Inclusions tab.
It is important to note that, when editing an inclusion rule for a particular user account and access level, it will mean that any trading partners that meet the inclusion rule’s criteria when the rule is first implemented will be automatically selected. Any new trading partners that are subsequently added to the trading partner collection will be automatically selected if they meet the inclusion rule’s criteria. Similarly, if they no longer follow the rule, they will no longer be included. Please note that if you decide not to give a user read or edit access to any trading partners, they will not see the option for that particular application in the navigation bar.